LTC and FID APPLICATION PROCESS
During this Pandemic, we ask you to cooperate with the following licensing procedures:
- Please MAIL your new/renewal LTC/FID application, and the $100.00 application fee (check made out to “Town of Groveland”) to:
- Groveland Police Department, 181 Main St., Groveland, MA 01834
- Persons over 70 years of age: No cost, it’s free.
- You will be mailed your receipt and receive a phone call with further instructions.
The Groveland Police Department thanks you for your cooperation during this current situation.
If you have any questions regarding the procedure to obtain an FID or LTC, please contact Det. Sgt. Heather Riley at (978) 521-1212 and ask for voicemail, or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org
FIREARMS SAFETY CLASS
All safety classes are postponed due to the current situation. we will reschedule at a later date.
***One requirement to apply for, and receive, an LTC or FID from the Groveland Police Department is a certificate of completion from a Basic Firearms Safety Course or Basic Hunter Safety Course.
The Groveland Police Department is offering a Basic Firearms Safety Course open to all residents and non-residents of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts applying for a Massachusetts License to Carry a Firearm or FID Card. This safety course is approved and meets the requirements set forth by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association (LTC-001).
Groveland Residents: It is NOT mandatory for you to take our sponsored class to obtain your LTC or FID card through the Groveland Police Dept. We must honor any certificate from a state approved class.
The course is between four and five hours in length and will cover the following topics,
Basic Firearms Safety
Basic Firearms Knowledge and Operation
Range and Home Safety
Massachusetts and Federal Laws Pertaining to,
Carry of Firearms
Transportation and Storage
Buying, Selling and Transferring Firearms
The cost of the course is $100.00 check or money order made out to the Town of Groveland (NO CASH PLEASE).
For further information contact Officer Ed Fournier of the Groveland Police Department at 978-521-1212.
To register for the class by stop by the Groveland Police Station located at 181 Main Street and fill out a registration form.
Please fill out the online form and email it to email@example.com or drop it off at the police station.
LTC and FID Application process (cont.):
The following forms require Adobe Reader 7 (Adobe Reader 7.0 required … Adobe.com)
- PDF Application for a new or renewal FID or LTC permit, please click here
- PDF Application for a change of address, please click here
If you need to file an FA10 to report a firearm sale or transfer:
- Sale/Transfer Firearms (eFA10), please click here
If you are a Groveland resident and would like to apply for a new, or renew an FID/LTC, please fill out the appropriate application from the link above and bring it to the police station. It will be given to Sgt. McDonald and you will be called within a couple weeks to set up an appointment.
For this appointment, you will be fingerprinted (if NEW) and photographed, and you will need to pay the appropriate fee. You will also be asked to provide proof of residency (a MA driver’s license is best). The fees are as follows:
$100 for a new or renewal LTC/FID
$25 for an under 18 years old FID (Parent or legal guardian permission by notarized letter required)
$25 for retired police officers (ID required)
Over 70 years old RENEWAL ONLY is free
The completed application will then be submitted to the State Firearms Records Bureau for final approval, and card printing. The new license will then be mailed to the Groveland Police Department, where it will be activated by computer and you will be called to sign for it and pick it up. The process from the appointment to the license being activated will take about 3-4 weeks.
If you have any questions regarding the procedure to obtain an FID or LTC, or any other firearm related question, please contact Det. Sgt. Heather Riley at (978) 521-1212 and ask for voicemail, or by e-mail – firstname.lastname@example.org
The Groveland Police Department issues various types of firearms permits to residents of Groveland. These types are the following:
- Class A License to Carry
- FID (Firearms Identification) Card
Due to the ever changing status of the Federal and Massachusetts Gun Laws by either legislative action or court rulings, the list below is a partial one, and you should inquire further at the time of application. In these times of apparently increasing violence, the process for obtaining one of the above licenses is time consuming and very thorough with many requirements to meet. These requirements include the following:
Initial Request For Class A License To Carry:
- You must be a citizen of the United States.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must submit proof of attendance and completion of a State of Massachusetts approved firearms safety course.
- You must complete an application in full.
- You must clear all background checks satisfactorily.
- You must show proof of residency in Groveland.
PDF Application for a FID or Carry Permit, please click here
License To Carry Renewals:
- You must complete and update an application form.
- You must clear all background checks satisfactorily.
PDF Application for License To Carry Renewals, please click here
Firearms Identification Cards:
- You must be 18 years old or older.
- You must show proof of residency.
- Meet the same requirements as indicated above for LTC.
- If under 18 years old and over 15, you must have written permission from parent or legal guardian and have them present at all appointments.
- All FID cards are renewed every 6 years and expire on cardholder’s birthday.
PDF Application for Firearms Identification Cards, please click here
LTC’s and FID’s will be entered into the state system when they are turned in. Applicants will be given a receipt when they deliver the app to the station. All pictures and fingerprints will be done at the police station.
When all the above requirements are met, the application and all documentation will be reviewed by the Chief of Police or his designee and the request will be either approved or denied. The application will be sent electronically to the Firearms Record Bureau in Chelsea, where it will be processed, approved or denied, printed and mailed to the police department. The license will be activated, and the applicant will be called to sign for, and pick up the license.
The circumstances under which a person is statutorily disqualified from obtaining the above licenses have been expanded. A person is now disqualified if he/she:
- Has been convicted (or adjudicated delinquent or as a youthful offender) of a felony, a misdemeanor punishable by more than 2 years imprisonment, a violent crime, or a weapons or drug offense.
- Has been confined to a hospital or institution for mental illness, unless he/she has an affidavit from a physician stating he/she is not disabled by such illness in a manner that prevents him/her from possessing a firearm.
- Is or has been under treatment for or confinement for drug addiction of habitual drunkenness, unless deemed cured by a physician.
- Is subject to a suspension or surrender order or a protection order issued pursuant to M.G.L. c. 209A.
- Upon the occurrence of a disqualifying event, the LTC or FID that had been issued must be revoked or suspended.
Carrying Restrictions (on a person)
- A person must have a Class A/LTC in order to carry or possess a loaded firearm in a concealed manner in a public place or way.
- It is unlawful for a licensed person to carry a loaded rifle or shotgun on a public way unless engaged in hunting and in possession of a hunting license.
- It is unlawful for a licensed person to carry an unloaded rifle or shotgun on a public way unless engaged in hunting and in possession of a hunting license, or unless the rifle or shotgun is enclosed in a case.
- It is unlawful to carry a loaded weapon while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Carrying Restrictions (in a vehicle)
- It is unlawful to carry a loaded firearm under a Class A/LTC in a vehicle unless the firearm is under the licensee’s direct control.
- It is unlawful to carry a firearm under a Class B/LTC in a vehicle unless it is unloaded and contained in the locked trunk or locked in a secure container.
- It is unlawful to possess a large capacity rifle or shotgun under a Class A or Class B/LTC in a vehicle unless it is unloaded and contained in the locked trunk or locked in a secure container.